Pro 14

Latest Scores

View all / Hide

Next Matches


'Mechanic' Nienaber to coach Boks for next four years

Jacques Nienaber will officially carry the title of Springbok coach until Rugby World Cup 2023, but it is as clear as a bright spring morning that Director of Rugby ...

a day ago

England fans should be begging Eddie Jones to select Nathan ...

Cheetahs CHE Kings KIN Sat 1 Feb 3:00am · Wales WAL Italy ITA Sat 1 Feb ... against Gloucester with some devastating carries and runs for the Southern team. ... @AndyGoode10 @TheRugbyPod Nathan Hughes absolutely fired up and making 105 ... to Eddie Jones with his selection in mind for #SixNations # PremRugby.

2 days ago

Breaking: Jacques Nienaber named as new Springbok head coach

Provided by The South African ... Erasmus vacated the hot seat after guiding the men in green to a Rugby World Cup title in Japan. ... In what has been the worst- kept secret in rugby circles, Nienaber succeeds the former Cheetahs captain, who ... Former Southern Kings mentor Deon Davids slots into the post vacated by  ...

4 days ago

New Springboks coach announcement accompanied by backroom ...

Davids, 51, graduates after a tough apprenticeship as head coach of the Southern Kings, firstly in Super Rugby (2016-17) and then in Guinness PRO14 until ...

4 days ago

Ferreira returns for Kings in Edinburgh | 15 Minute News

Schalk Ferreira will taste his first bit of PRO14 action for the 2019/20 season when he earns a starting berth for the Southern Kings against Edinburgh Rugby.

25 days ago

Teams announced for upcoming PRO14 fixtures | SCRUM

Edinburgh Rugby. Teams announced ... PRO14 fixtures. Warriors make the trip to Italy to face Benetton whilst Edinburgh host Southern Kings at BT Murrayfield.

a month ago

Connacht go to RDS believing they can break Leinster streak

'Generally when results go against us it's…us shooting ourselves in the foot.'

24 days ago

What time and channel is Leinster v Connacht on? Start time, betting ...

Leinster will also be boosted by the return of Joe Tomane to training this ... The match is set for kick off at 5:30 PM on Saturday, January 4. ... Connacht team.

24 days ago

Scarlets squeeze past Cardiff Blues

After wins over Ospreys and Dragons, Blues were narrow favourites for ... here and we'll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

25 days ago

Rhys Webb eligible for Wales Six Nations campaign

Rhys Webb is eligible to play for Wales in the 2020 Six Nations after it was announced earlier this week he will return to Ospreys from Toulon, the Welsh Rugby ...

25 days ago

Team P W L D Diff B Pts
Conference a
1 Leinster 10 10 0 0 227 7 47
2 Ulster 10 7 3 0 95 8 36
3 Cheetahs 9 5 4 0 54 6 26
4 Glasgow 10 5 5 0 27 4 24
5 Dragons 10 4 6 0 -87 2 18
6 Zebre 10 2 8 0 -106 6 14
7 Ospreys 10 1 9 0 -155 5 9
Conference b
1 Edinburgh 10 7 3 0 123 6 34
2 Scarlets 10 7 3 0 44 3 31
3 Munster 10 6 4 0 24 6 30
4 Connacht 10 5 5 0 -39 5 25
5 Cardiff Blues 10 5 5 0 -6 4 24
6 Benetton 10 4 6 0 -46 7 23
7 Southern Kings 9 1 8 0 -155 3 7

Played   Won   Drew   Lost   Points Diff   Bonus   Points

Last updated:


The league season as of 2017–18 takes place between September and May, with teams split into two conferences; each consisting of two Irish and Welsh teams and one team each from Italy, Scotland and South Africa to make a seven team conference. Each year the teams will be allocated to conferences based on their previous year's final positioning – in terms of Ireland and Wales, the top club from their respective nation will be placed in the same conference as the bottom club from their respective nation.

Teams will play each of the other teams in their conference twice (home and away) and each team from the opposite conference once (either home or away). In addition, each team plays two further derby fixtures against teams from the same nation, but in the opposite conference. This will ensure that Ireland and Wales retain their six derby matches for each team they held before. For Italy, Scotland and South Africa, their respective clubs will play their own nations side three times, with the home venue for the third fixture alternating each season between each club.

This creates a twenty one match regular season before the play-offs. The play-offs will be made up of the top three teams from each conference, with the conference winners gaining a direct bye to the semi-finals, which they will host. The second and third placed teams from each conference will advance to the quarter-finals, with each of the second placed team hosted the game against the third placed team from the opposite conference. The final will be held in a pre-arranged venue.

League points are awarded using the Rugby union bonus points system; 4 points for a win and 2 for a draw. Bonus points can be earned so long as teams can either score four or more tries in a game and or lose by seven points or less – should a team do both, two bonus points are gained.

As for European qualification, the South African teams are ineligible at this time for European Competition. However seven places remain for teams competing in the competition, despite the change of format. The top three teams in each conference, excluding the South African teams if necessary, will gain qualification into the Champions Cup. The fourth placed teams in each conference will take part in a play-off for the seventh place in the Champions Cup.

With one less regular season fixture than in the Pro12, but with an extra round of play-offs, the season remains at 24 matchweeks and thus can still be scheduled to same time period as previous models of the competition. Clashes between league matches and international weekends in November and during the Six Nations Championship remains.

Due to the travelling distance between Europe and South Africa, home South African games will always be played on a Saturday, allowing visiting teams to have a seven-day turnaround between fixtures and includes five 'clean days' that do not involve any travel. Should the draw see European teams play both South African teams away, the schedule will see the away team play the two matches back-to-back across two weeks, acting as a 'mini-tour'.

Edinburgh v Southern Kings

Leinster v Connacht

Dragons v Ospreys

Zebre v Cheetahs

Benetton v Glasgow

Like Smash Rugby?